DVD Review: Kaada-Patton – Live


Released: November 20, 2007
Label: Ipecac Recordings

8.5 out of 10


On Live, Mike Patton joins John Erik Kaada to create a seven person band for this live performance of the music from the album Romances. The DVD features the full set from Roskilde 2005 as well as behind the scenes footage from the event.

The concert footage on the DVD is mesmerizing. While watching you feel as if you not just watching a concert, but invited to a special event that doesn’t repeat itself frequently. The compositions are primarily Kaada’s, but Patton plays an integral role in helping Kaada transform his music into the live performance format. The result is an awesome composition of layered of instrumental sounds and vocals.

The behind the scenes footage is feature the rehearsals leading up to the performance. The viewer is a spectator to the musical process of these two great minds. Any language barriers are torn down as they share a common language without words; music.

Patton may be one of the most under-rated musicians and performers of our generation, and if you have any doubt of it after watching this DVD, you’re simply missing the point of it all. More important is his ear for new talent, and ability to release it for the rest of us to enjoy.

Chapter Listing:

  1. Legless Liss
  2. Invocation
  3. Pitié Pour Mes Larmes
  4. Aubade
  5. L’Absent
  6. Crépuscule
  7. Viens, Les Gazons Sont Verts
  8. Seule
  9. Pensée Des Morts
  10. Nuit Silencieuse
  11. The Cloroform Theme