Album Review: Papa Roach – Time for Annihilation

Papa Roach
Time for Annihilation

Papa Roach - Time for Annihilation

Release Date: August 31, 2010
Record Label: Eleven Seven Music


Time for Annihilation is an interesting mix of new Papa Roach studio recordings and live concert audio. In the studio and out, Papa Roach has nailed the formula for the modern day hard rock band sound.

The opening track, “Burn,” has a great riff that quickly grabs your attention. The cadence of vocals during the verses is infectious, but it’s the powerful chorus that’s sure to fire up a crowd. And that’s Papa Roach’s strength on the album. All these tracks would sound great live, including the more melodic “No Matter What.”

The live tracks were recorded in Binghamton, NY on December 8th, 2009. Of the fifteen songs played during their set that night, only nine were selected for this album. This might be point of contention for the die-hard fans who would rather to hear the complete performance, or those wanting to hear the songs that were cut out, like “Broken Home” or “I Almost Told You That I Loved You.” Rest assured, the live tracks are the real reason to listen to this album, because they completely outshine the studio tracks.

It’s surprising that all the live tracks were recorded during a single performance because they are all spectacular. The production is nearly flawless and there is a balanced mix of music and crowd. But the best part is simply hearing the band play their asses off, and the crowd responding in kind. Papa Roach is made for the stage.

Track Listing:

  1. “Burn”
  2. “One Track Mind”
  3. “Kick In the Teeth”
  4. “No Matter What”
  5. “The Enemy”
  6. “Getting Away with Murder” (Live)
  7. “…To Be Loved” (Live)
  8. “Lifeline” (Live)
  9. “Scars” (Live)
  10. “Hollywood Whore” (Live)
  11. “Time Is Running Out” (Live)
  12. “Forever” (Live)
  13. “Between Angels and Insects” (Live)
  14. “Last Resort” (Live)



CD Universe - Buy Now