Album Review: Kylesa – Sprial Shadow

Spiral Shadow

Kylesa - Spiral Shadow

Release Date: October 26, 2010
Record Label: Season of Mist


Savannah, Georgia’s Kylesa returns with their fifth full-length album, Sprial Shadow. Their previous effort, Static Tensions, was a well thought-out venture but still extremely aggressive. On this album, it’s interesting to hear the band settle into their groove, while constantly pushing the envelope.

As on Static Tensions, the production of this album features kick-ass drums, fuzzy guitars, and drowned out vocals.  This album pushes new frontiers by featuring some ambient, electronic, and punk elements.  Some of the sounds may not seem compatible, but Kylesa pulls it off seamlessly.

There’s so much substance to the music, a four minute tune on this album seems like it’s six or seven minutes long.  The opening track, “Tired Climb,” has an interesting intro and just explodes.  The music doesn’t relent for the rest of the album.  Other notable tunes include “Don’t Look Back,” and “To Forget” which has a great groove.  If you liked Static Tensions, you’ll love Sprial Shadow.

Track Listing:

  1. “Tired Climb”
  2. “Cheating Synergy”
  3. “Drop Out”
  4. “Crowded Road”
  5. “Don’t Look Back”
  6. “Distance Closing In”
  7. “To Forget”
  8. “Forsaken”
  9. “Spiral Shadow”
  10. “Back And Forth”
  11. “Dust”



CD Universe - Buy Now